Reading a Newspaper_edited.jpg



Call for Projects

The TASAg Innovation Hub is seeking to support collaborative projects relating to Drought Resilience and Agricultural Innovation.

Successful projects will receive cash and other support from the Hub based on total available funds of up to $2.6 million for drought resilience projects and up to $1.7 million for agricultural innovation projects.

Drought Resilience projects will help Tasmanian farming businesses and their local communities become more resilient to and prepared for the financial, social and environmental impacts of drought and dry seasonal conditions. 

Agricultural Innovation projects will deliver to priority areas under the National Agricultural Innovation Agenda: Trusted Exporter, Climate Resilience, Biosecurity and Digital Agriculture.

The TASAg Innovation Hub is a platform to help Tasmanian farming businesses, and those who support them, build valuable relationships, access critical information and participate in knowledge-building activities to drive more innovation in their businesses, care for land and waterways, and enhance community well-being.

For more information about the grants and application process

You can also register for an online information session about the grants here:


This activity received funding from the Australian Government’s Future Drought Fund.





Continued growth forged for leading agribusiness management service provider


Rural Business Tasmania has welcomed new blood into the organisation’s governance board and cemented its leadership team to commence the 2022 year.


Re-elected for a third term is Chairman Michal Frydrych, a highly experienced global executive and current co-owner of a commercial deer farm in Mole Creek.  Michal joined the Board in 2013 and after a number of years serving as Vice Chairman and Treasurer is sharing this experience to lead the Board of Governance. Supporting Michal, Vice Chairman Tony Barker continues to serve together with Treasurer Keith Rice, who has extensive links into the industry as Chief Executive of Poppy Growers Tasmania. 

The board executive is supported by Belinda Hazell, Principal Consultant from Optimum Standard, a business management system consultancy, and recent awardee of OAM for service to the agricultural industry.   Geoff Fader, Chair of the Tasmanian Small Business Council, continues as Emeritus Chair and provides an invaluable link to our role supporting small businesses in rural and regional Tasmania. A long-term Associate Director position has also been filled by the not-for-profit’s instigator and long-standing supporter, Rural Youth Tasmania, with current Chief Executive Karen Robinson providing a valuable connect.


Three new appointments have been made at the organisation’s first meeting with

Rebecca Duffy (owner of Holm Oak Vineyards) who brings valuable links together with a new perspective as a hands-on producer in a growth phase of career.

Christopher Bishop, an experienced business advisor and retired partner of Davern Dixon Chartered Accountants, bringing a wealth of experience and skills expertise.  

Sophie Milic, who has recently returned to Tasmania to take over the family Coaldale Walnut Farming operation, has been appointed to fill a third vacancy.


Front Row: Elizabeth Skirving, Christoper Bishop, Rebecca Duffy, Sophie Milic

Back Row: Keith Rice, Tony Barker, Michal Frydrych. Absent: Geoff Fader, Belinda Hazell, Karen Robinson

Interesting Reads

1-on-1 with Rural Business Tasmania CEO

From Idea to Reality: The Evolution of Rural Business Tasmania

Local Non-Profit Makes a Splash with Summer Fundraiser